NAHT is governed by an elected Board of Directors that meets face-to-face on a quarterly basis and via teleconference monthly. The Board is responsible for organizational policy, planning, overall agency direction and fiscal oversight.  NAHT's Board of Directors solely consists of tenants in HUD-assisted housing from all regions of the country. These tenants come together both in person and via conference call to make decisions about organizational policy, planning, overall agency direction and fiscal oversight.

The NAHT Board is elected at Regional caucuses during the annual meeting. There can be a maximum of fifty members (five per region). The number of board members per region is determined by the number of member organizations in that region. Board members serve a term of 1 year.

Below is a list of our Board members for the 2021-2022 year:


Region I – New England

Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut

  • Margaret Arneaud
    • MethUnion Manor Co-Op
    • Boston, MA
  • David Nollman, Secretary
    • Forbes Buildings Tenants Association
    • Jamaica Plain, MA
  • Susan Mills
    • Warren Avenue Apartments Tenants Association
    • Boston, MA

Region II – East Coast

New York, New Jersey

  • Geraldine Collins, President
    • Phelps House Tenants Association
    • New York, NY
  • Vanessa Trahan, Treasurer
    • Morningside Heights Multicultural Tenants Organization
    • New York, NY
  • Bishop Theodosia McLean
    • Dean North Tenants Association
    • Brooklyn, NY

Region III – Mid-Atlantic

Pennsylvania, Delaware, Maryland, Washington D.C., Virginia, West Virginia

  • Joseph Lundy, Vice President East
    • New Sands Residents Association
    • Virginia Beach, VA

Region IV – South

North Carolina, South Carolina, Florida, Kentucky, Tennessee, Georgia, Alabama, Mississippi

  • Deborah Arnold, Vice President South
    • Cityview at Rosa Barney Tenants Association
    • Atlanta, GA
  • Shalonda Rivers
    • Cordoba Courts Tenants Association
    • Opa Locka, FL

Region V – Midwest

Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota, Wisconsin

  • Michele Williams
    • Island Terrace Tenants Association
    • Chicago, IL

Region VI – Southwest

Texas, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Louisiana, Arkansas

  • Vacant

Region VII – Great Plains

Kansas, Missouri, Iowa, Nebraska

  • Vacant

Region VIII – Mountain

Utah, Colorado, Wyoming, North Dakota, South Dakota, Montana

  • Vacant

Region IX – West Coast

Arizona, California, Nevada, Hawaii

  • Rene Cyprian, Vice President West
    • Frederick Douglass Haynes Gardens Tenants Association
    • San Francisco, CA

Region X – Northwest

Washington, Oregon, Idaho, Alaska

  • Vacant

Watch videos below for interviews with some former NAHT Board Members telling their stories.


Former NAHT Board Member: Charlotte Delgado


Former NAHT Board Member: H. Demetrius Bonner